Affiliate Marketing Blog and Internet Market

5 Important Google Adwords Tips

May 29, 2009 by Affiliate Mkt  

Tip #1 – Don’t Be Afraid of Trying Pay Per Click Traffic

Most beginners are so focused on search engine optimization and other free sources of traffic that they put almost no attention on paid traffic.

Yet paid traffic is just so much easier to scale than free traffic. If you find an offer that converts at $1.00 a click, then as many clicks as you can get for $0.50 you’re doubling your money. It is like investing your money on a Savings account and getting 100% interest. If you spend $5,000.00 you get $10,000.00 back. It’s that simple.

Tip #2 – Understand Your Stats and Earnings Per Click

The most important number is not conversion. It’s not your payout either but your EPC or earnings per click.

Let’s say your product sells for $40 and your conversion rate is 1%. Then your EPC is $0.40.

You know that for every click under $0.40, you’re making money. This is important for affiliates. You should not be looking at payouts or conversion rates like it’s the golden egg. What really matters is your EPC.

Tip #3 – Google Adwords Quality Score

Quality Score is one of the most difficult aspects of AdWords. There are so many factors that can influence your quality score that makes almost impossible to keep a perfect QS for every single keyword you are targeting.

The way Google come up with the QS is a secret and sometimes a mistery. However we know that there are two processes.

The first part is the Pre-Run scan. Before you get any traffic, the AdWords bot scans your site and decides how relevant your landing page is. It gives you a score that is generally between 6 and 8.

Second part, this is your on the run score. Your QS is calculated in real time on a per click basis.

Phase one quality score is only important for getting your ad to run. Often times if your QS is too low, you ad won’t even show. The key here is keyword relevance. Have your KW in your title tag, H1 tags and body text. It’s all about your landing page.

Once you get a 7 or 8 in phase 1, then phase 2 is all about CTR. Your landing page becomes just 20%-30% of the equation. Most people put way too much emphasis on it at this point.

You now want to optimize for Google’s eCPM. What Google effectively earns per 1000 impressions they give you. For example:

Advertiser 1: 1% CTR, 0.50 Per click. For every 1,000 impressions Google gives him Google makes $5.
Advertiser 2: 3% CTR, 0.25 Per Click. For every 1,000 impressions Google gives him, Google makes $7.5.

What’s amazing is that Advertiser #2 will actually rank higher than advertiser #1, get more volume and pay half of what Advertiser #1 is paying. That’s because Google’s eCPM is higher for them and it’s in their best interest to rank your ad higher. They make more money charging you less.

So the most important thing to optimize for in the later part of the game is your CTR. If you can write great ads and beat out your competition in CTR, then you’re well ahead of the game.

Tip #4 – Don’t Add to Many Keywords per AdGroup

Each Ad Group allows you to write a unique ad. Most people lump together somewhat related keywords and write one ad for all those keywords. For example:

How to Get a Boyfriend
Where to Meet a Nice Boys
Meet a Boyfriend
Tips for Getting a Boyfriend
(Plus 10 more)

They put them all in one Ad Group and write one ad for it.

This is a great way to both kill your quality score and your CTR. Instead, it’s crucial to write just one ad per keyword so that your ads are laser targeted, your QS is high and your CTR is off the charts.

(By the way, I’ve gotten 25% CTRs before, which is insane.)

Here’s how to do it.

Tip #5 Use Excel to Edit then Upload in AdWords Editor

Most people trying out AdWords try to do it in the web interface. This is an insanely slow way to do things. It’d be impossible to do most of the advanced techniques, and one keyword per adgroup would be suicide.

I often launch with as many as 5,000 keywords; doing that in the web interface would take months.

Instead, you can edit everything in excel and then just copy and past it into AdWords editor.

You can do all your keyword research, group them into Ad Groups and then just copy and paste. You can write all your ads in excel and just copy and paste it into AdWords editor.

Doing this, creating 1 keyword per adgroup takes about 10 minutes once I have my keyword list. I can write ads for 200 keywords in about an hour.

It’s much faster, more streamlined and you’ll make far more money.

CX Digital Media

December 28, 2008 by Affiliate Mkt  

Today I am going to review one of my favorite affiliate networks. Like any other company in this industry CX Digital Media bring to their affiliate more than just higher payouts.

Why use PPC if you’re losing money?

December 27, 2008 by Affiliate Mkt  

As bizarre as it may seem, many PPC advertisers are losing money on their ads. How can that be possible? The following are real quotes from real companies using PPC, explaining why they use PPC despite the fact that the PPC campaigns are losing money:

  • “I know we’re losing money on PPC, but I’m under pressure to provide leads.”
  • “Well, we’re not really sure if we’re making money on PPC or not.” (They weren’t.)
  • “We experimented with PPC last Christmas . . . sure, we lost money, but we’ll probably try again this Christmas, too.”
  • “You control the ad wording — you can change wording from minute to minute if you really want to.”
  • “You can associate different ads with different keywords or keyword groups.”
  • “You can specify exactly how keywords work — if you select shoes, will the ad appear if someone searches on shoe? What about shoes in denver?”
  • “You can specify, to some degree, where the ad appears — will the ad appear if the person searching is in Denver? In Chicago? In California? In Germany”

The degree of control allows you to tweak your advertising campaign. You can track the effects of your ads — not only can you see how much each click costs and how many people click an ad, you can even see what people do when they come to your site. You can track how many of the people who click the ad actually buy, fill in an informationrequest form, or take some other kind of action. Some ad texts may work better than others. You can experiment by combining different keyword choices with different ads. This information allows you to optimize your advertising by pinpointing which keyword/ad pairs get you the best results.

Adwords Quality Score Changes

November 2, 2008 by Affiliate Mkt  

Google is once again working towards some improvment to their QS system.

Prosper202 Goes Open Source

November 2, 2008 by Affiliate Mkt  

Prosper202 is one the best free tools to track your PPC campaigns. It is a self-hosted system that gives you total control on your campaigns. In recent weeks, a security flaw was found caused by the Zend Encryption used to maintain the code safe from third parts.

The Zend Optmizer could open a door for hackers to enter into a Prosper202 user’s database and have access to all they precious information. Not only that, the hacker could also divert traffic by alterating the redirect to their own offer.